Sousou & Maher Cissoko: Stockholm-Dakar

Today, I started a new category(zb-Albums I bought; the z is there because of the order). So we will present you the albums we bought, so that every author intruce albums to other readers.

Sousou & Maher Cissoko: Stockholm-Dakar

Genre: World Music

Sousou and Maher Cissoko are a married music duo from Sweden and Senegal. Their music is a mix of traditional african sounds with european sounds. Some times ago, when I was in munich, in the shop Ludwig Beck, I saw their album Stockholm-Dakar, which was released in 2011. I thought, yes, I know the name and remembered that I once blogged the song Jangfata. So I listened to it in the shop and bought it. The album is a music journey from Sweden to Senegal with so many different songs and languages: Swedish, Mandinka, Wolof and English. So after listening to it, I liked it more and more. In Stockholm-Dakar, they mixed traditional West African and Swedish music and added reggae and pop, mbalax and some hip-hop sounds.

All in all, a nice world music album, a music journey! I think it was their first album and just can say: Keep on this wonderful work! I’m really enjoying it!

Here’s a great compilation, and if there are more videos on YouTube, I’ll post them ;)

6 thoughts on “Sousou & Maher Cissoko: Stockholm-Dakar

  1. Pingback: Xandi’s Charts 2011 | Worldmusic

  2. Pingback: Music from Sweden/Sengal – Sousou & Maher Cissoko « World Music – the Music Journey

Leave a Reply

